Week 1: Meatless Tuesdays

Meatless Mondays are definitely a thing, but this week we are doing Meatless Tuesday. My husband commented that Mondays are already kind of a bummer, so why make them worse.

Below is our menu for the week along with the grocery list and changes I made when cooking dinner each night. Enjoy this week’s dinner plan! Meatless Tuesday Dinner Plan & Grocery List

Menu

Monday: Chicken Shawarma with whole wheat pita bread

  • For the yogurt sauce, I used 1 cup greek yogurt instead of ¼ cup and kept all the other ingredients the same. I always love yogurt sauce, the more the merrier, so I stretched it out a bit.

Tuesday: Kale Salad with Spiced Tofu and Chickpeas

  • I always press the water out of my tofu before using it. I find it browns better. Just put it on a cutting board over a sink and weigh it down with a cast iron skillet or something heavy for 20+ minutes.
  • I will stay that when my husband heard what was for dinner he ask, “have I done something wrong?” On paper this is his idea of punishment, but he claims to have really enjoyed it. Either that or he loves me a lot and will eat anything I cook. TBD.

Wednesday: Bourbon-Glazed Pork Chops with Hoppin’ John & Corn Bread (see recipe below)

  • I used 2 cans of black-eyed peas instead of 1 so we could have some leftover. Super yummy! I usually find black-eyed peas to be very bland, but this was a pleasant surprise.

Corn Bread: ¾ cup corn meal, 1 ½ cups all purpose flour (I usually do ½ white whole wheat instead), ¼ cup sugar

2 tsp baking powder, ½ tsp salt, 1 cup milk, 1 egg, ¼ cup vegetable oil

  1. Preheat oven to 400
  2. Grease 8 or 9-inch round pan
  3. Mix dry ingredients. Stir in wet ingredients until dry ingredients are moist.
  4. Pour batter into pan and bake for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Thursday: Grilled Halibut Salad Nicoise

  • My husband does not consider a salad dinner, but with fish, potatoes and some veggies this is hardly a salad. Definitely a complete meal in my book and he either indulges me or agrees.
  • I hardly follow a recipe here and just keep everything super simple. Steam the beans and potatoes, prep the tomatoes and olives, grill the fish, make my own dressing and call it done. I serve it all over a bed of dressed lettuce and pour more dressing on all the individual ingredients. I leave out the hardboiled eggs since I can neither stand the smell nor the taste, so that helps keep the recipe simple too.
  • Since I don’t like raw garlic and wanted to speed things up a bit I used my go to Dijon vinaigrette. 1:1:2 dijon mustard, red wine vinegar, and extra-virgin olive oil. Simple and traditional on a nicoise salad.

Friday: Gnocchi with Zucchini and Parsley Brown Butter & optional grilled meat

  • I never boil my gnocchi. Instead I brown them in olive oil so they don’t end up quite so mushy. Once they are brown I take them out and use the skillet to cook the rest of the meal and add them back in at the end.
  • Since I don’t like fresh tomatoes, and because canned ones are usually better than winter tomatoes anyway, I use canned diced tomatoes instead. Another time saver too.
6 thoughts on “Week 1: Meatless Tuesdays

Leave a Reply

