Week 2: Back to the dark ages

When I was doing our menu planning this week our internet was down. And since free time and baby naps are hard to come by, I went the old fashioned route and used actual physical recipes. My husband created an awesome recipe binder in which I’ve been collecting recipes over the years. Flipping through it I found some great recipes from Cooking Light that I had never had the chance to try before. One thing I love about their quick dinners is that they include the main dish and all the sides, so everything is done for you. Enjoy! Menu Plan & Grocery List

Week 2 menu

Monday: Sausage, Cannellini, and Tomato Ragout with Rosemary Parmesan Polenta and Broccoli

  • Like I’ve said, we eat a lot in this household so I doubled the recipe. We had enough for dinner, lunch the next day a little more to spare which is quite a feat! The grocery list only has enough for the original recipe but with an extra can of beans and diced tomatoes, it was super easy to do.
  • When I buy canned goods if possible I try to buy the “no salt added” version. Both the tomatoes and beans for this recipe were “no salt added”.
  • Since my herb garden is not quite there yet, I used dried oregano rather than buying fresh. For 2 tsp fresh I would use ¾ tsp dried, and add it in with the garlic and tomato paste instead.

Tuesday: Spanish Tortilla with Spinach & Lettuce Salad

  • Some recipes take healthy too far and this is one of them. I am not wild about egg whites and also don’t really like to waste food, so instead of doing 6 eggs and 4 egg whites, I did a total of 8 whole eggs.
  • I also had some red potatoes on hand and found it pretty quick to dice them up and quickly steam them in the microwave myself. I leave the skin on for extra fiber and because when they are diced I really don’t notice the difference. But it is also very easy to buy frozen diced potatoes. The grocery list has fresh potatoes but do as you wish.
  • I used 1 tsp dried time to substitute for the 1 Tbsp fresh.
  • I prefer fresh spinach to cooked so I just made a green salad with spinach to go along with our dinner. Also saved me the time of having to chop the spinach!

Wednesday: Indian-Spiced Lamb Kebabs with Whole Wheat Pita and Raita

  • We used the leftover pita from last week so we didn’t have to buy any more. I try to do that when I remember so things like that don’t get lost in the back of our fridge or freezer.
  • To go with the kebabs I made a cucumber raita with 1 ½ cups greek yogurt, ½ cup finely diced English cucumber, ¼ chopped mint, and a pinch of salt.

Thursday: Spaghetti with Asparagus (see directions below)

  • My mom had an amazing garden when I was growing up, still does I am just not around to enjoy it, so come springtime we would eat asparagus every day for about a month. We had several tried and true favorites that kept asparagus season interesting and delicious and this is one of them.
  • With the extra spinach and lettuce from the Spanish Tortilla I made a quick green salad and threw in some extra veggies we had laying around.

Boil water and cook spaghetti.  Chop asparagus into 1” pieces. Chop 4 cloves garlic. Heat a frying pan with 4 Tbsp oil or butter. Add garlic, cook for 30 seconds, then add asparagus and 4 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce, 8 Tbsp lemon juice, salt a pepper. Cover and steam until the asparagus are cooked. Mix with spaghetti and serve with parmesan cheese.

Friday: Orange-Glazed Salmon with Olive Quinoa and Salad with Orange

  • To go with the salmon and quinoa I made a simple green salad that I topped with the remaining orange segments from the recipe and homemade salad dressing.
Leave a Reply

