What this blog is about

Hi! I’m Victoria, a stay at home mom who loves to eat, cook and yes, menu plan. I don’t always love the actual menu planning process of deciding what to eat each week, but I do love the end results. A fridge stocked with good food, only having to go to the grocery store once a week, and not having to worry about what to eat every night. Call me a dork, my brother certainly does, but I’ve been menu planning since I graduated from college and had to start cooking for myself everyday. I was working for a non-profit at the time teaching this exact thing so I decided to put my money where my mouth was. After a few years of work I was inspired to go to grad school to get my Masters in Public Health, Nutrition. Now, I am enjoying family life and trying to find ways to make what I do in my daily life fulfill my passion for public health and the whole reason I went back to school in the first place. So here we are.

This blog will include weekly meal plans as well as a shopping list. Since it is the meal plan I did with my family the week before, you will also get my notes on what I changed, added, and would do differently. Most of my recipes come from my favorite cooking magazine, Eating Well, conveniently based in my hometown of Charlotte, VT. They have a lot of quick, easy and healthy weeknight meals. We cook enough dinner with the goal of having leftovers for lunch the next day. This may be more than your family needs, so adjust accordingly. I will also say that I don’t follow recipes completely, or sometimes at all, and often take shortcuts and substitute ingredients. I will try my best to explain what I did and why but feel free to do your own thing or just follow the recipe as is. This is not a cooking blog, so I won’t be teaching you how to cook or posting step-by-step pictures. There are plenty of those already and I promise to never cook anything technical enough to require so many pictures and explanations! In my grocery list I will assume you have general staples like salt, pepper, oil and salad dressing. I will always substitute out mushrooms. Both my husband and I dislike them, mostly a texture thing, so if that is a deal breaker for you then I’m sorry. I think that is it. We eat lots of veggies and whole grains, love brinner, eat a LOT and just about everything and don’t feel the least bit guilty about it. Enjoy!

Victoria

Leave a Reply

