Week 5: We’re back!

The good thing about having a blog that is just for fun is that I can leave for a week and it doesn’t really matter. Stella and I took her first trip to Vermont this past week. It was her second airplane trip but our first trip with just the two of us. Of course she was on the brink of crawling which made it difficult to confine us to one small seat when she wasn’t sleeping, but despite delays, and getting to VT after midnight, we both survived and were in pretty good spirits. And as one of my friends told me, “it’s a good thing moms are super heroes.” Agreed! Although a vacation with an 8-month old isn’t exactly a “vacation”, I got a nice and much needed break from cooking, grocery shopping, and laundry, and had many extra hands to dote on and entertain (or be entertained by) Stella. So we are back to reality now. Menu plans have been made, groceries bought and we are ready for another week back in CO. Menu Plan & Grocery List.

Week 5 Grocery List

Monday: Pork Fajitas with Smokey Cherry Salsa

  • I find it tough to grill veggies sometimes and have them cook but not burn, so putting the onions in a foil packet is oftentimes what I do. You can do the same with peppers, but they are a lot easier to grill. Again, I talk about grilling like I actually do it but that is entirely Travis’s department!
  • Depending on what is available in your store, fresh or frozen cherries are fine.

Tuesday: Peanut Noodle Salad with Chicken

  • This is a summer classic from my childhood. I’ve added the chicken and veggies to make it a complete meal, but I love this peanut sauce recipe and use it often!

Wednesday: Spiced Eggplant-Lentil Salad with Mango

  • For those who don’t like eggplant, I think this is a great dish. The eggplant is super tasty and soft from being roasted. Taste test it before taking it out to make sure it is soft enough and add more time if needed.
  • I usually cook my own lentils, but a can is pretty darn easy. I just usually can’t find canned lentils. I cook ¾ – 1 cup dry lentils and end up with more than the recipe calls for, but one 15oz can doesn’t seem like that much to me.
  • I don’t use a full two bunches of scallions, but that is just a matter of taste.

Thursday: 8-Layer Taco Salad

  • I keep this one simple and don’t actually arrange it in its 8-layers for presentation.
  • I cook the meat following step 1 then skip steps 2 & 3. Once the meat is done I add the beans and salsa to the pan and mix together. I fill each of our dinner bowls with lettuce, top it with the meat mixture, and garnish with diced avocado, tomatoes, cheddar cheese, cilantro, and sour cream (or greek yogurt as the recipe calls for). I usually eat it with tortilla chips as my scoop or crumble them on top. Simple and easy!

Friday: Crispy Fish Sandwich with Pineapple Slaw

  • I found a good fresh pineapple this week, but fresh or canned will both work.
  • To make the coleslaw more colorful I add some red cabbage too since I had it leftover from the peanut noodles.
One thought on “Week 5: We’re back!

Leave a Reply

