Week 7: Tomatoes

I don’t like to think of myself as a picky eater, but the things I don’t like I find to be everywhere on menus when I go out. My biggest food confession is that I don’t like tomatoes. It seems like anyone who loves good food LOVES tomatoes so I hate to let people know, but I seriously dislike fresh tomatoes, their smell, and how well they manage to contaminate everything they touch. Everyone tries to argue that maybe I just haven’t tried a really good one, but I assure them I grew up having access to an impressive garden where I could eat them fresh off the vine and I still don’t like them. I often fall for the “oh, but these ones are so sweet they taste like candy” line. Nope. They still taste like a tomato. But I try them every year since it would be way easier to like them than to dislike them but so far no luck. I do however like canned tomatoes, salsa, tomato sauce and the tomato soup on the menu this week. So long as they are adequately disguised I am in. Maybe someday I’ll outgrow this little phase I’m in, but after 31 years I am not holding my breath. Menu Plan & Grocery List

week 7 list

Monday: Turkey Cutlets with Rhubarb Chutney, Whole Wheat Couscous and Asparagus

  • My rhubarb is still not quite ready but since it is in season I can enjoy it anyway courtesy of our local supermarket.
  • I can never find turkey cutlets so I usually end up using chicken breast instead. Same idea just longer cooking time if you do it on the stove. Travis usually ends up grilling them instead.
  • I served this with whole wheat couscous and roasted asparagus (425 with oil, salt and pepper for 12-15 minutes).

Tuesday: Samfaina with Whole Wheat Spaghetti and Green Salad

  • This is another great dish for people who aren’t in love with eggplant, but again it is crucial to cook it until it is super soft. Otherwise it is spongy and squeaky and nobody likes that.

Wednesday: Black Bean & Salmon Tostadas

  • I love this recipe because a. it is delicious and b. it requires no cooking if you go the lazy route and buy tostadas as I do. Perfect for a hot summers day.
  • I usually double the salmon since I enjoy it leftover with extra coleslaw, but the ratios are just fine the way they are.
  • Since I still have some leftover red cabbage, I chopped that up to add to the coleslaw for extra color and flavor.

Thursday: Hot Chile Grilled Cheese with Tomato Soup

  • Apparently this is a known combo by those who like tomato soup. I only caught on later in life, but enjoy it now too.
  • With an emersion blender this soup is straightforward and does not require much work. And it can simmer while you make the grilled cheese.
  • Use sour cream with grilled cheese mix instead of yogurt if you don’t have yogurt on hand, or vice versa.

Friday: Grilled Meat & Ratatouille with Brown Rice

  • Since we already had both chicken and eggplant this week I used the recipe for inspiration but did a few things differently.
  • Travis grilled us a steak and some venison backstrap we had in our freezer.
  • For the ratatouille, I increased the zucchini and added yellow squash in place of the eggplant.
  • Since it is not summery enough yet for fresh herbs I still used dried.
  • I usually buy instant polenta and serve it more like grits since cooling and cutting it takes more foresight than I usually have but you can also buy a roll of polenta at the store and cut it to serve.
4 thoughts on “Week 7: Tomatoes

  1. Don’t count on outgrowing your non-liking of tomatoes . . . I have been wishing I liked beer for about 30 years, I try it every year, and still — nope. And you know how old I am.

    Like

    • Uh-oh. Glad to know there are other adults with amazing gardens in their life who also don’t like tomatoes. We feel the same way about beer too. I only like beer that doesn’t taste like beer, so maybe I can find a tomato that is similar.

      Like

Leave a Reply

