Week 8: Meat

I’ve never liked dealing with raw meat and I blame it on my genes. It’s more likely nurture than nature, but we’ll call it genetics anyways. We often ate vegetarian meals growing up since my mom, who also does not like handling raw meat, was the primary cook in our household. If and when we did eat meat we would all meticulously cut off the fat and gristle and eat boneless cuts of meat. Travis however grew up in a meat loving household where gnawing on the bones at the end of a meal was standard practice. Different folks, different strokes. We’ve melded our two preferences together by eating a lot more meat than I was accustomed to, but Travis always (or almost always) cooks it and will trim my piece off the bone for me. Done deal. Between teaching families to cut up a whole chicken at Cooking Matters and cooking for a Summer Meal program in Minneapolis for 100 kids I have overcome my fear of raw meat and learned a thing or two along the way. I made the One Pot Pasta with Zucchini and Chicken this week and cut up the chicken myself! Progress. Travis is still our grill man and far superior at cooking meat, but now that I do more of the cooking while he takes Stella and Tazzie off my hands, I am working on it. But the Moroccan Kidney Bean Salad is more in my wheelhouse. Menu Plan & Grocery List

week 8

Monday: One Pot Pasta with Zucchini and Chicken (from Mark Bittman’s The Food Matters Cook Book)

  • This dish really reminded me of the Hamburger Buddy recipe from a few weeks ago but a lighter, more summery version.
  • It says it takes 1 hour, but it definitely took less time!
  • We of course used 1 lb of whole wheat pasta instead of 8 oz and increased the liquid to compensate. I didn’t double everything but increased the recipe to 5 zucchini and 1 lb chicken and thought it worked well.
  • I used chicken breast rather than thighs since I like white meat more
  • The recipe is a bit vague on timing and adding liquid. I used ½ cup wine, 3 ½ cups stock and let it cook for a little more than 20 minuets covered, stirring every few minutes.

Tuesday: Moroccan Kidney Bean Salad with Farro and Green Salad with Avocado

  • To make this more of a complete meal for us I add some cooked farro to the salad. It goes well with the beans and is the right texture for this kind of salad.
  • I served it on/with a green salad with avocado to try and make up for the fact that we didn’t have any meat with the meal. Yikes!

Wednesday: Peruvian Beef Kebabs with Grilled Corn & Green Beans

  • This is my kind of recipe. Marinate the meat for 15 minutes. No need to plan ahead.
  • I find that onions burn on the grill but rarely get cooked so I pre-cooked them a bit with the potatoes in the microwave.
  • The corn is easy to grill in the husk or following the recipe instructions if you want them more charred.
  • I added steamed green beans to round out the meal.

Thursday: Potato Kale Hash with Eggs

  • Brinner! (Breakfast for dinner)
  • My mom does not like eggs unless they are completely disguised by vegetables, so I only ever ate scrambled eggs growing up and had to learn to like fried eggs later in life. So this is not a type of dish I ever would have eaten until I met Travis but thank goodness for him! I think it is delicious.
  • The biggest trick with this dish is to not crowd the pan otherwise the potatoes won’t brown.

Friday: Halibut with Coconut-Red Curry Sauce & Veggies with Brown Rice

  • To make this a complete meal I added chopped broccoli and bell pepper. It suggests serving it on a bed of bok choy which is also delicious, so take your pick.
  • I didn’t follow their rice instructions and instead made brown rice to keep things simple!
  • I added the broccoli and bell pepper after the onions had browned and let them boil/steam in the liquid until soft.
  • I always love more curry sauce so we used the whole can of coconut milk and doubled the curry paste.
Leave a Reply

