Week 13: I Scream, You Scream…Ok, You Get The Point

Summertime means lots of things. BBQs, pools, crazy hot days, 4th of July, and of course ice cream. Standing in long lines for ice cream and home made ice cream. There is never a time that our freezer does not have at least one pintIce cream of Ben & Jerry’s ice cream, you could say it is my weakness but that would imply guilt and I have no guilt with needing my Ben & Jerry’s. I’m from Vermont, we are born loving it. But summertime at least lets me branch out a little and make some ice cream of my own. I stick to fruit flavors since Ben & Jerry seem to have the wild combinations covered, so raspberry and strawberry are my personal favorites. I have been known to make a pumpkin ice cream come fall, but a no-cook simple fruit ice cream takes the cake. This week we just happened to have some extra heavy whipping cream that needed to be used up and raspberries that were going bad so there was an obvious solution. The ice cream maker always lives in our freezer so with just a few minutes of prep work we had homemade ice cream in about 20 minutes on a Tuesday night. And why the heck not? It’s summer after all! Meal Plan & Grocery List

Monday: Kale Salad with Peanut Dressing and Grilled Chicken

  • This is a recipe we got from our CSA last year and have been using every since. I love peanut sauce and mixing in some grilled chicken makes it a pretty easy meal that is also really good leftover.

Tuesday: Vietnamese Shrimp & Mango Lettuce Wraps with Rice Noodle

Shrimp Mango Bowl

 

  • Since making and eating lettuce wraps is not very practical for us these days at dinner, we made this meal into a lettuce bowl. Equally delicious and much easier to eat while bending down to pick food up off the floor every other bite (from Stella, not Travis).
  • I also cooked some vermicelli rice noodles and mixed them in with the dressing and served it all on a bed of lettuce.

 

Wednesday: Curried Farro Salad with Garbanzo Beans with a Green Salad and Garlic Bread

  • As we sat down to eat this I immediately thought of just how much my mom would have liked this meal! My mom cooks mostly meatless meals and my dad pretty much exclusively cooks meat, so you can see why I thought of her.
  • The recipe called for wheat berries which take over an hour to cook, so I substituted farro instead since it only takes about 20 minutes. And I definitely did not allow time for it to cool, so I just mixed everything together hot. Flavors blend better while hot, so I am sure it tasted better as a result.
  • I also added half a red bell pepper, sliced, as well as a can of garbanzo beans to make it a more complete meal.
  • I of course served it with a green salad and garlic bread too.

Thursday: Soba Noodles with Mustard Greens

  • This is another recipe from our CSA last year. It is originally for a different green called mizuna, but mustard greens are what we have.
  • Soba noodles are buckwheat noodles typically used in Japanese cooking, but Travis’s Russian coworker said he grew up eating them all the time so I guess they are pretty universal.
  • You can use any veggies you have on hand. I always like a lot of veggies, so dial it down if that is not your preferred ratio.

Friday: Burgers with Green Salad, Potato Salad and Grilled Corn and Homemade Raspberry Ice Cream

  • Grilling and burgers seem like a good way to kick off the holiday weekend to me. And potato salads seem very 4th of July-ish.
  • You will ever see me make or eat a potato salad with mayo, so go ahead and cross that off your list. The potato salads I grew up with were vinegar and herb based, so that is why I chose the recipe I used here. You can throw any herbs you have in the mix, we have chives and tarragon in our garden so I add those too.
  • For the raspberry ice cream I added a tsp of lemon juice and used much less sugar. Start with 1/3 cup and go from there.
Leave a Reply

