Week 17: Nuts!

Nuts. We learned the hard way that Stella is allergic to peanuts. Being the diligent parents that we are we gave her peanut butter as soon as she started eating, around 6 months, and thought great, no problems. Recommendations have changed in the last few years and pediatricians now recommend introducing nuts sooner rather than later. They have pretty much thrown all food rules out the window and tell you to feed them anything and everything, just no honey before 1. Easy to do. Stella has had dairy, wheat, soy, shellfish, peanuts, almonds, you name it. Any and all potential allergens we had given her without much of a second thought. Neither of us are particularly nervous parents and although I know food makes a lot of parents nervous we both felt pretty confident. Food allergies don’t run in our families. We will be fine! Cut to 4th of July night in the mountains with no hospital in town and suddenly I was feeling a bit guilty about my cavalier attitude. Poor Stella was having a pretty bad allergic reaction to a peanut butter, banana and yogurt smoothie I’d made for her after she had refused any and all lunch. She was covered in hives from armpit to knee, hot as could be, had a plugged nose and was having trouble breathing. Obviously everything ended up ok but being a parent takes nerves of steel sometimes and some sleepless nights as you check every hour to make sure your sweet child is still breathing. She had a much more mild reaction to almonds the following week and after a quick trip to the allergist she is now a nut free little lady! Peanuts and tree nuts are out. So our meals of peanut sauce and cashew cream as we enjoyed on Thursday night are coming to an end as Stella eats more and more of what we eat and seemingly gets pretty pissed when she is not eating what we eat…So if anyone has any rocking sunflower seed butter recipes for our future (yum!) or worthy nut recipes that should be in our last hurrah, send them our way. Meal Plan & Grocery List

week 17

Monday: Turkey Taco Salad

  • I love taco salads since they are super quick and you can pretty much add anything you have on hand. I added more veggies since we are overflowing with veggies as well as a can of beans and chili powder.
  • Add the chili powder in with the turkey once it has browned and the beans at the end to heat.

Tuesday: Eggplant & Zucchini Pork Bowls with Quinoa

  • This was really tasty! It could easily be vegetarian or done with ground turkey instead.
  • I would double the sauce, which makes it better leftover too.

Wednesday: Grilled Salmon, Broccoli & Curried Rice Salad

  • I love this curried rice salad. My mom used to make this for potlucks and it would almost always get eaten before we brought it home.
  • We have tarragon, basil and mint in our garden and between the three I had plenty of herbs to put in the salad.
  • Since the rice salad involves some prep work and has plenty of flavor, I steamed the broccoli in the microwave and Travis just used salt, pepper and oil on the salmon.

Thursday: Cashew Cream Pad Thai

  • This was super good, but I don’t know if I would call it Pad Thai like.
  • I double everything and used the whole 8 oz of noodles in the package.
  • I of course didn’t read the recipe until it was time to start dinner, a classic move, and didn’t have an hour to soak the cashews. I soaked them in hot water for as long as it took me to prep the veggies. Good enough!
  • I also boiled the rice noodles instead of soaking them for an hour.
  • For veggies I used 2 zucchini, 2 yellow squash, ½ small green cabbage, peas, and 2 carrots. I used a spiralizer for the zucchini and squash but had trouble with the carrots so I ended up doing them julienne.
  • Instead of so many raw veggies I scooped the noodles out of the water, returned it to a boil and put the veggies in the water for 2-3 minutes until soft.

Friday: Hawaiian Steak Fajitas with Grilled Pineapple Salsa

  • I bought 3 bell peppers, mixed colors, and 1 large onion in place of the pre-cut ones suggested. Since Travis was grilling the steak and pineapple rings I sautéed the peppers and onions inside and added some fajita like seasoning we had on hand. Tossing in some cumin, salt, chili powder & oregano would do in a pinch too!
  • Since we used some fajita seasoning we skipped the teriyaki sauce but I know Cook’s Illustrated uses something very similar in their fajitas, so I trust the flavors would work.
One thought on “Week 17: Nuts!

  1. Pingback: Week 59: We’re Not 22 Anymore | Dinner plans

Leave a Reply

