Week 18: Creemees

We are flying back east on Saturday to visit my family for a week. I grew up in Vermont and make a yearly pilgrimage every August, the nicest time of year, to see friends and family. Most trips are highly food focused as there are many specialty food items that I can only get when I am home. Not surprisingly, many of them have to do with maple syrup. I LOVE maple syrup. Some of these include maple milk (it’s as amazing as it sounds), maple goat cheese (yes that exists too), Citizen Cider, Barr Hill Gin, and the list goes on. And then there are maple creemees. No, I am not so excited I added a few extra “e”s in there, that is just how it is spelled (and spell check does not like it one bit!). Maple creemees and creemees in general are a Vermont summertime tradition. After a day at the lake, a little league soccer game, or anything outside really, a creemee has been earned. What, you might ask is a creemee? It’s VT’s soft serve that traditionally comes in vanilla, chocolate or swirl but has been adapted in the last decade or so to come in (real) maple as well. Fitting for a VT treat. One thing they never tell you growing up is that creemees are an exclusively VT term, so when you talk about them outside of the bubble no one has a dang clue of what you are talking about. Good to know! But a tasty treat they are nonetheless. Since we had a puppy and a baby on the way last August and didn’t get to go home I have two summer’s worth of creemees to eat this week! Ready or not…Meal Plan & Grocery List

Monday: Lemon Chicken & Veggie Stir-Fry with Brown Rice

  • Since we are still trying to make it through the deluge of vegetables from our CSA I figured a stir-fry was a great option. I used the sauce and followed the general steps of the recipe, but used my own veggie combination.
  • After cooking the chicken I stir-fried the onion, yellow squash and red bell pepper together since they take a similar amount of time to cook. Then added some broccoli that I had pre-steamed since I find broccoli doesn’t stir-fry well otherwise.
  • I removed those veggies and added some green cabbage and mustard greens and then tossed everything back in together. If there are too many veggies in the pot they don’t really stir-fry so doing it in batches is quicker and gets things more browned.

Tuesday: Swiss Chard, Onion & Cheese Frittata and Garlic Bread

  • This is another great way to use up some veggies and make dinner in a hurry! And it is the only way I will eat eggs leftover.
  • Since we had a large bunch of chard and I wanted leftovers I used 8 eggs instead. I didn’t squeeze the liquid from the chard and all turned out well. I also completely forgot to re-oil the pan before adding the eggs but surprisingly that too turned out fine. Thank goodness for Teflon!

Wednesday: Zucchini Cakes with Lemon Sour Cream and Grilled Meatzucchini cakes

  • To give credit where credit is due, Travis made the zucchini cakes and they were delicious! We used yellow squash and doubled the recipe keeping them warm on a cookie rack, rather than a cookie sheet, in the oven so they didn’t get soggy.

 

Thursday: Red Rice Salad with Peaches & Cucumbers and a Green Salad

  • I did not bother salting the cucumbers to remove moisture since I like my cucumbers just the way they are.
  • I added a can of white beans to make this more of a meal and served it all on a bed of lettuce rather than mixing in the lettuce/arugula since I find it to be better leftover without soggy lettuce.

Friday: Sausage & Kale Sauté with Polenta

  • We needed a super quick dinner one night and this fit the bill. Quick and flavorful.
  • I forgot to get pre-cooked polenta at the store so instead made grits which only take 5 minutes and worked well with the dish.

No post next week as we will be enjoying our summer vacation!!

One thought on “Week 18: Creemees

Leave a Reply

