Week 19: Time Flies When You’re Having Fun!

Five years ago today Travis and I got married in my

IMG_5451

Stella enjoying her first of many maple creemees. I think it was a hit.

parents’ backyard in Vermont. Time flies when you’re having fun! We met when we were 21, and 10 years later a lot has changed. Travis used to slathered so much Ranch dressing on his salad you couldn’t see green, he ate nothing stronger than medium cheddar cheese, and his vegetable repertoire was modest. I didn’t know how to cook, never mind eat, an egg anyway but scrambled (and overcooked), and ate mostly vegetarian since I didn’t know how to cook meat. We have very much melded our styles together and generally for the better. We eat meat, but not everyday, we don’t have to buy his and hers cheese anymore and both enjoy extra sharp cheddar cheese, we eat homemade dressing with our salads and actually have to taste the lettuce, and eat crazy veggies like kale, beets, chard, and cabbage! Oh my. Travis still hasn’t warmed to broccoli rabe, an acquired taste I am sure. And we both still dislike mushrooms, so not everything has changed. Five years is a long time, and more than just our taste preferences have changed. We’ve also become homeowners, dog-parents, and real human parents. So not a bad first five years with many more to look forward to with my sous chef, grill master, and all around awesome dad and adventure partner. Meal Plan & Grocery List

Monday: Barbecued Raspberry-Hoisin Chicken, Brown Rice and Broccoli

  • I managed to marinate this in advance and was quite please with myself about that. I used less hoisin sauce, about ½ cup, and 1 Tbsp of orange juice instead of zest.
  • Since we had extra marinade Travis basted the chicken while grilling it.
  • I steamed some broccoli and served it all together with the sauce on some brown rice as the recipe suggested.

Tuesday: Creamy Avocado & White Bean Wraps

  • For being a vegetarian meal with cabbage, I think this does pretty well for itself in our household (ahem…Travis). The sharp cheddar cheese with the bean mixture and veggies is pretty darn good.
  • This is also a super fast meal that is nice for a hot summer day since it requires no cooking.

Wednesday: Fish Tacos with Creamy Cilantro-Lime Slaw

  • I don’t really care for beer battered fish tacos and prefer chili rubbed fish tacos that have tons of flavor and plenty of tasty garnishes.
  • I followed the taco recipe but used a different recipe for the slaw. The recipe I used was merely inspiration of course but I kept it simple and chopped up some green cabbage and cilantro and added some lime juice, zest and enough sour cream to “dress” it.

Thursday: Sesame Noodles with Veggies

  • My dad made this for us when we were in Vermont last week and it was worth repeating. We of course left all the peanuts out, but I am sure their addition would only improve the dish.
  • We used regular egg noodles since I could not find Chinese egg noodles and honestly don’t know the difference.
  • To add some more color and make it my kind of dish I added shredded carrot, some red cabbage and a bell pepper. Adding shredded chicken would work well too to stretch it out even more.

Friday: Chimichurri with Grilled Meat, Grilled Zucchini or Yellow Squash, Grilled Corn

  • We got a garlic scape chimichurri recipe from our CSA earlier in the summer that can be duplicated very easily with regular garlic. Since we had fresh chives and oregano it seemed like the perfect dish to try.
  • I made extra and put it on just about anything in sight so I concluded it could work well with any kind of grilled meat and would also probably be pretty tasty on some grilled veggies too. Why not?
  • I sliced the zucchini lengthwise and put oil, salt and pepper on them before grilling them.
  • Travis cuts off the tops and tails of the corn and removes the outer dry layers of husk before grilling them.
Leave a Reply

