Week 27: Texas

img_6615

The cauliflower head makes my 8″ chef knife look like a toy.

We are on our way home from Stella’s first visits to Texas and boy is she tuckered out. All the meat this little girl could ask for and so much fun playing and keeping up with her big kid cousins. We are pretty whooped too trying to keep up with a very independent little lady who is a bit precarious on her feet. And keeping her out of harms way too of course from pretty much everything that grows there and has a spine or some sort of pricker. Just before we arrived Travis’s parents saw and eliminated the biggest rattlesnake they’d ever seen on the property. And it was right by the house. So not so relaxing. Internet is a bit of a situation out at the ranch so due to that and a few stupid key strokes my blog post this week got deleted. So this is what you get; a picture of cauliflower and some recipes. Sorry! Back next week with more. Meal Plan & Grocery List

Monday: Potato Leek Soup with Garlic Bread & Green Salad

  • The recipe says it takes 1 hour 20 minutes but it seemed quicker than that. I worked on getting the stock to a boil while I cut up the veggies and I cut the potatoes a little smaller so they could cook faster. I also didn’t peel them and had no trouble blending them later.
  • I tried to cook it down to thicken it more since I may have added more heavy cream than suggested…

Tuesday: Roast Salmon with Sautéed Yellow Squash or Zucchini and Farro

  • This was a super easy way to cook fish. I cooked it a little longer to get the skin to come off, but otherwise the directions were very straightforward and easy to follow.
  • I used parsley and chives as my herbs.

Wednesday: Pasta with Cauliflower, Bacon & Bread Crumbs and Green Salad

  • This one takes a little bit of time and juggling of a few pots but it is so worth it!
  • I do a lot more bacon and breadcrumb topping since we had the largest head of cauliflower I’ve ever seen. I had our 12” skillet overflowing and I still only used up half, so be prepared for more cauliflower recipes next week!

Thursday: Vegetarian Tikka Masala with Roasted Okra and Brown Rice

  • I did press the tofu for 30 or so minutes and then failed to read the recipe properly and tossed it with the entire spice mixture. I think it worked out just fine.
  • For a quick weeknight Indian dish I thought it was very tasty. No heat, but that is never a problem for me.
  • I also definitely added more half-and-half than the recipe called for.
  • I put oil, salt and pepper on the okra, and roasted them on a sheet pan at 425 for 15-20 minutes.

Friday: Rutabaga & Beef Stew with Couscous and Green Beans

  • We had family in town this week and made a different beef dish that took a lot longer than would work for a normal weeknight. So I substituted a simpler fall beef stew that we’ve had before.
  • As I recall it takes the rutabaga longer to cook than the recipe says, but otherwise it was a pretty easy flavorful weeknight stew that is perfect for fall.
Leave a Reply

