Week 29: Breakfast Vows

fullsizerender

One of our more colorful dinners from last week.

When Travis and I got married we wrote our own vows. About half of his promises to me involved food; clearly he knows me well! One of the things he promised was to make me breakfast on the weekends and so far he hasn’t broken it despite the arrival of a baby. And we are not just talking a bowl of oatmeal, weekends are for pancakes, waffles, French toast, breakfast burritos, huevos rancheros, etc. on both Saturday and Sunday. I know, high expectations, but I think his breakfast vow was fairly self-serving. It’s not like he doesn’t get to eat it too. Some chocolate chips might find their way into our pancakes every once in a while but generally “we” make both delicious and pretty healthy meals. French toast is usually with whole wheat bread, pancakes we use some or all white whole-wheat flour which is just a more palatable version of whole wheat flour, and we try to add some veggies and other goodies to our eggs. An excellent way to start the day! Being from Vermont maple syrup is a non-negotiable but starting the day with loads and loads of syrup isn’t always amazing. I’ve converted Travis and the rest of my family to eating pancakes and French toast with plain yogurt and syrup which means you don’t have to soak your food in quite as much syrup. The pumpkin pancake recipe at the end is a fall favorite of ours. I LOVE anything pumpkin and think these are delicious. We usually double them and freeze some for Stella to have for breakfast later in the week. I like to think/hope we are instilling in Stella a love and appreciation of breakfast and someday some poor sorry fool will be making her breakfast every weekend too. Sorry in advance! Meal Plan & Grocery List

Monday: Southwestern Stuffed Acorn Squash with Green Salad

  • This is a fall classic for us and doesn’t take as long as it says if you make the filling while the squash is cooking. Towards the end of our CSA we get loads of winter squash that we store in our basement and use throughout the fall.
  • Be very careful when cutting the squash in half. I don’t have a magic trick for acorn squash but with others I cut off an end to make a flat side to help balance while cutting it in half.
  • I usually use more sausage since I like leftover filling.
  • I use canned tomatoes for the filling to help cut down on prep (and because I don’t like tomatoes).
  • Any kind of cheese you like works for the topping.

Tuesday: Smoky Ham & Split Pea Soup with Seeded Whole-Grain Quick Bread

  • You can easily leave out the potatoes in the recipe and it will be just fine.
  • I usually add more carrots, onion and celery since I love my veggies.
  • If you can’t find a smoked ham hock any old ham will due. If I get one without a bone I just dice it up and put it in the crockpot like that.
  • I was dubious of how this quick bread would turn out since it uses 100% whole wheat flour but it was so moist and delicious. The buttermilk and olive oil must contribute a lot to that. It was way quicker than the recipe says and will be a new regular for us.

Wednesday: Garlic Shrimp with Cilantro Spaghetti Squash and Green Salad

  • The spaghetti squash I got was too big to go cut-side down in a microwave safe dish so I put both halves in a microwave dish with a tiny bit of water and covered it which worked fine too. Basically it just needs to steam.
  • After I scraped the squash from its shell I put it in a colander to drain off all the excess liquid.
  • To make this meal more filling I cook a half pound of whole wheat pasta and mix it in with the spaghetti squash. That also gives us more leftovers.
  • A substitute for cooking with wine would be chicken stock or white grape juice and a splash of lemon juice.

Thursday: Calabacitas with Brown Rice

  • I usually add either a can of black beans or diced chicken to fill out the meal and serve it with rice or whole wheat tortillas and lots of garnishes.
  • I also do more squash and zucchini to substitute for the mushrooms.

Friday: Moroccan-Spiced Pork Chops with Mashed Sweet Potatoes and Lemony Green Beans

  • I do this dish without the red pepper sauce mostly because I am lazy but also because everything has enough flavor that it doesn’t need it.

Bonus Recipe: Pumpkin-Oat Pancakes, From The Best of Simply Colorado Cookbook

  • These are delicious if you like pumpkin, which I do.
  • I keep powdered buttermilk on hand for baking. You can find it in the baking aisle. You just add the powder to the dry and water to the wet and use it like buttermilk.
  • This recipe is a bit too runny so we leave out the egg white and the skim
Leave a Reply

