Week 42: Mom Brain

img_8108

Mom brain courtesy of this little goof

Mom brain is real, but it’s also an excellent excuse for forgetting things. One of my mom friends aptly put it that if you are only as strong as your weakest link then your attention span is as long as a (insert the age of your child) 17-month olds. Sounds about right! I’ve always been one to write things down before I forget but now I often don’t have the opportunity to as I chase after Stella so it just feels like I am more forgetful. But the other day I nailed it memory-wise and my mom brain confidence was boosted. I got to the grocery store Monday afternoon without my list; believe it or not that is not the nailing it part of the story. I was of course super frustrated but not about to go home and start again. So I went through the store as usual and just tried to remember what I’d written down. Pre-Stella there were a few times I forgot my list and could pretty much picture my list, having spent thoughtful time making it and picking out our weekly menu. I typically would do really well by re-creating most of the list in my head. But Monday my head was blank. No picture and no recollection of the menu I had planned. I was a little nervous that this would be a giant waste of time but as I went through each aisle the list seemed to come to me. And this is where I nailed it. I correctly bought 42 out of the 45 items on my list, which blew my mind! First of all that I buy that much food each week and secondly that I could remember random things like garam masla, tomato paste and a Spanish onion. I can hardly remember what I did yesterday or what I had for lunch but somehow I managed to save what I thought would be a super frustrating afternoon excursions. And good thing since we wouldn’t have had much to eat for dinner that night had I not been so successful. So yes, I forget things and thoughts slip my mind all the time but I’ve at least still sort of got it. And I’m sure memory exercises like forgetting my list are good for my brain every once in a while. Or at least that is what I will be telling myself! Meal Plan & Grocery List

 

Monday: Smoky & Sweet Turkey Chili with Cornbread and Green Salad

  • Sometimes I feel like a chili is a chili. Yes, there are white chilies, vegetarian, beef, 3-bean, 5-bean and every other variation imaginable but my enjoyment level is pretty much the same. I don’t particularly like smoky foods, but this chili kind of knocked my socks off.
  • I added black beans and would add more veggies like frozen corn, bell pepper and zucchini, but the flavors were definitely there.
  • I made my whole-grain skillet cornbread that Stella loves and crumbles all over the floor and a green salad to round out the meal.

Tuesday: Tuna & Rice Bowls

  • I made the brown rice at lunch and reheated it for dinner since being home an hour before dinner can be a stretch.
  • I also couldn’t find any tuna I would eat raw so Travis grilled it.
  • It was a very fresh tasting dinner despite having cooked the fish. I added radishes, shredded carrot and would recommend any other veggies you have on hand.

Wednesday: Crock-Pot Butter Chicken with Veggies and Rice

  • This smelled so good while cooking and didn’t disappoint! Giving the flavors a long time to work their magic was essential since a quick version of this dish wouldn’t have been the same. I thought the sauce was a little spicy or strong, not sure which, so I would probably use more cream, yogurt or both to mellow it out a bit. But we served it with lots of rice and yogurt to cool it off and that worked just fine.
  • I added half a cinnamon stick and a few cardamom pods and cloves to the rice to add some extra flavor and just steamed some broccoli and left it pretty plan to eat with the extra sauce.

Thursday: Grilled Lamb Chops with Cucumber-Mint Yogurt Sauce, Couscous with Dried Fruit and Lemony Green Beans

  • We had one last pack of lamb chops to use up from our ½ share of lamb along with some mint and cucumber so it seemed like it was meant to be. And it was a super simple and quick meal despite all the components.
  • Yogurt, diced cucumber, mint, a splash of lemon juice and a pinch of salt will about do it for the sauce.
  • I chopped up the extra kumquats we had in the fridge and added them to the water along with the couscous and some dried fruit.
  • Travis grilled the lamb chops with salt and pepper and I steamed some green beans and added some butter and lemon zest before serving. Pretty darn easy.
  • This is not the recipe I used, but it is a good starting place (minus the marinating part of course).

Friday: Leek, Mustard & Goat Cheese Quiche with Garlic Bread and Green Salad

  • I try to avoid making pie crust. Even though I have my grandmothers foolproof pie crust recipe, the last time I made it it was in no way flaky or light and more closely resembled play dough. Instead I found whole-wheat pie crust in the freezer section and give it a try. Stella really liked it and I didn’t have any major complaints myself.
  • I doubled the eggs, cream, mustard and goat cheese to get two quiches so we’d have enough for lunch the next day. Score!
  • I tried using one cup of half and half and one cup of sour cream instead of crème fraîche and I though it turned out well. With the creamy goat cheese and only 2 eggs per quiche the texture was really smooth and nice.

Bonus Recipe: This is the Dutch Oven Lemon, Garlic & Rosemary Roast Chicken we had last Sunday. The onions from the bottom of the pan were to die for. So lemony and delicious! I roasted some root veggies to go with it.

Leave a Reply

