Week 51: A Soupcess

IMG_9056

My little kitchen helper. Yes she can reach into ALL of our drawers now and help herself to all of the things. 

It’s only taken me 10 years, but I think I’ve finally convinced Travis that a soup can be a meal. They say determination runs in my genes, so I guess they’re right. I too have always been dubious of soups. Travis just straight up doesn’t like brothy soups, so I tend to skip the chicken noodle or minestrone soups that have protein, veggies and a grain all in one bowl and have the potential to work as a meal. There are certainly plenty of lentil soups but if you saw the silent groan and momentary disappointment on Travis’s face when I tell him we are having lentils for dinner you probably wouldn’t put them on the menu that often either. If and when we do a soup for dinner Travis usually ends up grilling a meat to have on the side which kind of defeats the point of making a meal when you have to make a second one to supplement. But the Thai Coconut-Pumpkin Soup from a few week’s ago and this week’s Roasted Cauliflower and Potato Curry Soup have proven me wrong. They have been hearty, filling and satisfying as a full meal themselves that aside from a piece of garlic bread and/or a salad have successfully been a complete meal. I love a good creamy potato-leek soup but seemed to be lacking imagination for how I could make other hearty soups that don’t all involve heavy cream and have different flavors. A straight vegetable soup as a meal is a novelty to me. Aside from the coconut milk in those two soups they were all vegetables with no real protein. And we still liked them! It’s nice to know that I have a new simple meal in our repertoire that I can work in every few weeks. I definitely need to find more unique and interesting hearty soup recipes, since as of now my repertoire is pretty small. Meal Plan & Grocery List

 

Monday: Roasted Cauliflower & Potato Curry Soup with Green Salad

  • I was really convinced I’d made this soup before but my blog tells me otherwise so I trust it. I think it’s because I’ve wanted to make it for so long but for some reason it just hasn’t gotten on the menu. Totally worth the wait though, this soup was delicious! I think it has a lot to do with the full-fat coconut milk I used and the flavors from the roasted cauliflower.
  • I followed the directions for this soup pretty well, actually. The one thing I’ve been doing more often than not is setting my oven to convect. The oven automatically adjust the temperature 25 degrees lower, but it cooks faster which is the advantage.
  • I left the skin on both potatoes and was worried the skin would be too tough on the russets but I pureed most of them so it worked out just fine.
  • At the end I used my immersion blender to puree some of it to get a thicker textures. That is the part of the soup Stella ate, so I am glad I did.

Tuesday: One-Pot Cheesy Pasta Bake

  • I doubled this recipe for 1 lb of pasta so we’d have lots of leftovers.
  • We’ve been having some epic hangry meltdowns this week, Stella’s not mine for a change, so this was a very simple and quick meal to help speed dinner time along. Since a lot of recipes aren’t easy to make in advance while Stella is napping, super quick is the alternative. I had to dice 1 onion and open a few cans, so not much prep work involved.
  • I used a mix of mozzarella and parmesan cheese for a bit more flavor.

Wednesday: Leftovers!!!

  • This literally never happens in our house but between the soup which I made a ton of and the pasta, we got a night free of cooking. So great! Why don’t we do this more often I ask? Because we eat a TON.

Thursday: Grilled Chicken Ratatouille with Farro

  • Ratatouille is such an easy way to get a nice variety of veggies in one meal. I happen to love all these veggies so it is makes me pretty happy. I also added yellow squash and another zucchini in place of the tomatoes.
  • I cut the onions into rounds and put them in a foil packet. With all the veggies and chicken there are plenty of things to oil and flip, so this was an easy way to simplify things for my grill master.
  • The splash of red wine vinegar is surprisingly delicious, so don’t skip that step.
  • We ate it in a bowl with farro but any whole-grain would work just fine.

Friday: Cedar-Planked Halibut Tacos with Citrus Slaw

  • A new twist on a taco by adding the cedar plank flavor. And a very easy addition or thing to leave out if you forget to soak the cedar plank.
  • As you may have guessed, we still have cabbage left over from last week so I was trying to use it up in this meal. So instead of the napa cabbage I used purple and green cabbage.
  • The grilling takes longer because of the plank, but everything else for this meal is pretty quick and straight forward.
  • We garnished our tacos with a little cilantro and avocado. A very fresh and simple meal.
Leave a Reply

