Week 52: Classics

IMG_9141

Stella helped me pick flowers in anticipation of some cold weather this weekend. Can you guess which one she picked? (hint: it has no petals)

I know some people have a pretty regular rotation of their favorite, or go-to, recipes that they make every couple of weeks or a typical menu that gets them through the week. It is definitely easier and works for a lot of people, but not us, or at least not us yet. I try to do a chicken dish, pasta, vegetarian, seafood, and meat dish each week with some longer more complicated recipes reserved for the weekend. Since we eat fairly seasonally, there are certain recipes I get excited to make (total nerd, I know) ever winter or summer. But in general my recipes take us all over the place. A little case of recipe ADD. I am constantly looking for new recipes to try and make dozens of different chilis, curries, meatloaves, and soup recipes all winter long never settling for just one. In the summer it is burger, dinner salads, and anything on the grill but again, something different every week. This week however, we managed to fit in three favorites, Cherry Burgers, Sopa Seca and Black Bean & Salmon Tostadas. We both really like these recipes but I was realizing that this is only the first or second time I’ve posted each of these recipes on the blog which means despite their status as some of our favorites, we only make them once a year. How do we have so many recipes we like that we only make the ones we really like once a year? Not a bad problem to have at all since we have a whole lifetime of food and cooking and we don’t want to get sick of them, but kind of crazy. This is coming from a person related to both my dad and brother who could and do eat the same thing every day for YEARS! I remember being absolutely shocked and astounded when after Thanksgiving one year, my dad chose to have a peanut butter and jelly sandwich rather than leftovers. He hadn’t had one “in a while” (likely a week) and was genuinely excited about the prospect. I hadn’t had Thanksgiving leftovers in oh, let’s say a year, and was completely and utterly thrilled at the prospect and here was someone I share 50% of my genes with passing up on the opportunity. Well trust me, there were words. In the end, it seems that most of our favorite recipes end up being like Thanksgiving, something you make once a year, enjoy the heck out of, and then leave behind. Meal Plan & Grocery List

Monday: Moroccan-Spiced Chickpea Glow Bowl with Bulgur

  • I really liked the spice combination in this recipe and would totally use it in other dishes too. Big hit.
  • I made some bulgur to do a lazy version of tabbouleh. I added olive oil, lemon juice, cumin, salt, cucumber and mint.
  • We served our bowls with yogurt and hummus. Feta would have been good too had we had it on hand.

Tuesday: Cherry Burgers with Grilled Asparagus

  • If we are doing this as a quick weeknight dinner I skip the cherry ketchup, but on a weekend it is totally worth it if you love cherries as much as I do. But feel free to throw a few of those spices into the burgers instead.
  • The burgers are so straight forward even I can make them. They do fall apart a little on the grill, but are still perfectly eatable. So eatable that Stella ate two! Yes, two whole real adult sized burgers. She’s pretty into meat.

Wednesday: Soap Seca and Green Salad

  • I really like this dish for no other reason than I think it is unique. You can make it as spicy as you want it by adding more or less of the chipotles peppers but overall the flavors are pretty simple.
  • I always double the pasta and use a pound of whole-wheat spaghetti with 4 cups of broth. I don’t double everything but do use a large onion and more cumin and salt. It takes longer to cook than the original Cook’s Illustrated recipe because of the whole-wheat noodles but I’ve adapted the recipe accordingly.
  • And for the second time in her life Stella ate noodles. Winning!

Thursday: Chicken Curry Bar with Brown Rice and Broccoli

  • I love garnishes, so this dish really floats my boat. There were lots of unique one too, so that was fun.
  • I steamed some broccoli to serve with it since my pan wasn’t big enough to fit everything while it was simmering, but that would have been the smart money. I tell you, it pays to read a recipe before starting.
  • I think it goes without saying that I used full-fat coconut milk. I also added the raisins when I added the coconut milk so they could soften a bit more.
  • We used lime juice, green onion and cilantro as our garnishes and it was perfect. More is always better but we didn’t have banana chips and almonds aren’t featured in our cooking anymore:(

Friday: Black Bean & Salmon Tostadas

  • Depending on time and motivation I either make or buy the tostadas. Yes making them from scratch is healthier, but since we eat them about once a year it doesn’t keep me up at nights. So do as you wish.
  • We use two cans of salmon and make a bit more coleslaw since it is good leftover the next day for lunch.
Leave a Reply

